How’s your memory?

So well over a month ago we started the Challenge 25 in middle school. Along with our church family, Seneca Creek Community Church, we have taken on the challenge of memorizing 25 verses over the course of a year. This is just one part of a year-long, life-changing celebration of our 25th anniversary!

So far, so awesome!

Students are super impressing us with their desire and ability to memorize scripture after scripture. Honestly, I have never been good at the whole memorizing verses thing, but I am working extra hard JUST.TO.KEEP.UP!! And it’s been great!!

If I am honest, I love that I now have a new and growing arsenal of scripture to reflect on without using my iPad, smart phone, laptop, or even the old school ink/paper version. It really does pay to store the word of God in my heart. I knew this, of course, but now, I am living it on a whole new level.

So, if you are just getting on board, here’s a list of the ones we have mastered so far:

  • Ephesians 3:20
  • Galatians 5:22-23 (yeah, I know, that’s two)
  • Matthew 5:16
  • John 3:16

Our newest one is Philippians 4:6-:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

This scripture, though challenging to memorize for me, is also INCREDIBLE in the TRUTH that it convey and the PROMISE it holds. So I plan to memorize it not just for the glory (or the candy), but for my heart. For my faith. For my life.

Who is with me?

Philippians-4-6-7

