ADVENT: too beautiful not to share…

So today I was perusing an advent devotional that Anne Marie Miller generously gave out for free (snag your copy right here – trust me – you will be glad you did). I am not sure why it took me so long to dig deeply into it, but, there it is.

Lately, I have been struck by the incredibly painful choice God made by sending his son to die. Not just to live and preach and heal and save and love. But to die. How? I am pretty sure I could not make that choice.

And then this.

SURVIVING CHRISTMAS

…THE RISK OF BIRTH – MADELEINE L’ENGLE

This is no time for a child to be born, With the earth betrayed by war & hate And a comet slashing the sky to warn That time runs out & the sun burns late.

That was no time for a child to be born, In a land in the crushing grip of Rome; Honour & truth were trampled by scorn- Yet here did the Saviour make his home.

When is the time for love to be born? The inn is full on the planet earth, And by a comet the sky is torn-
Yet Love still takes the risk of birth.

Reflection: Just…reflect.

How many times have you heard from older generations, “If I were young now, I’d never choose to bring a child into the world” or “Kids have it so hard now, I can’t imagine trying to raise a child in this {insert derogatory statement here} world.”

It was no different for God.

One could argue the world was harder. More cruel and violent. More unpredictable. More insecure.

And yet he still gave.

I’m still processing. I am still pondering. And I am humbled beyond what I can muster in these few words. As loud and bright as I like it at Christmas (yes, Griswold, I am coming for YOU), I can’t seem to make a single sound when the reality of this sinks in – as much as it can.
No matter where you are with your exploration of God, faith, Jesus, or even in the midst of the rejection of it all, I think it is worth reflecting on the mere possibility that hope, love, peace and joy was born in the midst of chaos, hate, blood and oppression. And that when we consider our place and our purpose, wouldn’t it be amazing if we saw ourselves as an instrument of those very things in our world today?

The preceding devotional was taken from SURVIVING CHRISTMAS, ADVENT DEVOTIONS FOR THE HARD AND HOLY HOLIDAYS  by Anne Marie Miller Copyright 2014, Anne Marie Miller

